FSA 2013 Meeting Recap

FSA 2013 Annual Meeting – A Great Success!

FSA 2013

Left to right: President Dr. Jay Epstein, Vice President Dr. Jonathan Slonin, Past President Dr. David Varlotta, Past President Dr. Charles Chase, President-Elect Dr. Jeff Jacobs, Secretary Dr. Steve Gayer, Treasurer Dr. Kurt Jones, and Assistant Treasurer Dr. Knox Kerr

The Florida Society of Anesthesiologists convened its annual meeting at The Breakers in Palm Beach from June 7-9, 2013. More than 300 anesthesiologists, residents, anesthesiologists assistants, medical students and fellows convened to discuss trends and practices in the field, and tools for safeguarding patient care and safety.

The meeting featured a wide array of thought-provoking lectures on high-risk obstetric anesthesia, new practices in pediatric anesthesia, and new developments in ambulatory anesthesia. Congressman Andy Harris, M.D., R-MD, covered the potential impact of The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act on health care economics and the federal deficit. Given the Congressman’s background as an anesthesiologist, he brought a unique perspective to the discussion. Dr. Harris’s talk helped to frame the FSA’s legislative priorities for the coming year, specifically the organization’s efforts to raise awareness that physician-led anesthesia provides patients with optimal care and that doctor supervision of anesthesia is critical to maintaining the highest standards for Floridians.

Attendees were also educated on techniques in both managed care contract negotiations and the avoidance of lawsuits. More than 30 cutting edge research abstracts were presented and additional conference topics of interest to both physicians and patients included “Responsible Prescribing in a Prescription Drug Epidemic’ and “Ethical Considerations with Drug Shortages.” New to the agenda this year were two concurrent sessions on pain management, and two hands-on workshops, one covering Regional Anesthesia, and one covering Perioperative Echocardiography and Lung Ultrasound.

Congratulations to Dr. Miguel, winner of this year’s Distinguished Service Award, for his contributions to the field of pain management, dedication to the society, and ongoing staunch advocacy. Kudos also to FSA 2013 President Dr. Charles Chase; Program Chair, Dr. Chris Giordano; and Program Co-Chair, Dr. Leopoldo Rodriguez; as well as to the entire Program Committee for their hard work on this successful meeting.

Please click here to view the final program